Prime ministers of India from 1947 to date

Prime Ministers of India
15 August 1947 – 15 April 1952
15 April 1952 – 17 April 1957
17 April 1957 – 2 April 1962
2 April 1962 – 27 May 1964

Jawaharlal Nehru

We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.
~Jawaharlal Nehru

Gulzarilal Nanda

Gulzarilal Nanda (acting PM):- was the Prime Minister of India for two short periods following the death of Jawarlal Nehru in 1964 and Lal Bhadur Shastri . He was a politician and economist and was specialized in labour issues and he was awarded the Bharat Ratna Indian highest Civilian award in 1997 he studied at Lahore Agra and Allahabad.

27 May 1964 – 9 June 1964
11 January 1966 – 24 January 1966
9 June 1964 – 11 January 1966

Lal Bahadur Shastri

He was the first student new institution Shastri graduated the first class degree He was given the title Shastri (Scholar).The title was a bachelor’s degree awarded by the institution but it stuck as part of his name. Later Shastri became an active member of the Indian national congress at the call of Mahatma Gandhi.

Indira Gandhi

(Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi) was a first women prime of India . She was the daughter of Nehru and her mother was Kamala Nehru. Indira was the only child as her younger brother died. she was guided by a tutors and she attained school very often.

24 January 1966 – 4 March 1967
4 March 1967 – 15 March 1971
15 March 1971 – 24 March 1977
14 January 1980 – 31 October 1984
24 March 1977 – 28 July 1979

Morarji Desai

Morarji Desai was an Indian independence activist as 4th prime minister of India led by the Janata party and during his politics, he held many posts such as chief minister of Bombay, Home minister, finance minister and 2nd deputy contender for the position of the prime minister only to be defeated by Indira Gandhi.

Charan Singh

Is the 5th Prime minister of India he is refereed to be him as champion of India’s peasants. He entered politics as part of Independence movement motivated by Mohandas Gandhi and he was jailed by British he took deep interest in the law he publicly opposed the unquestioned leader and prime minister.

28 July 1979 – 14 January 1980
31 October 1984 – 31 December 1984
31 December 1984 – 2 December 1989

Rajiv Gandhi

Our task today is to bring India to the threshold of the twenty-first century, free of the burden of poverty, the legacy of our colonial past, and capable of meeting the rising aspirations of our people.
Rajiv Gandhi

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

I believe whoever is in power, people should fight the establishment over issues. This is the weakness of our democracy. We vote, then for five years we remain dormant. The farmers’ movement will remain but we need a formal political party to fight elections.
Vishwanath Pratap Singh

2 December 1989 – 10 November 1990
10 November 1990 – 21 June 1991

Chandra Shekhar

Chandra Shekhar who served as the 8th Prime minister of India. He held a Minority At the beginning of his politics he was the member of Raja Sabha as an Independent candidate  later  he resigned from Raja Sabha and he was elected for Lok Sabha he head a minority government with the support of Indian national congress. He is the first prime minister who never had any government office.

P.V Narasimha Rao

P.V Narasimha Rao Was an Indian lawyer and politician . He was the 9th prime Minister  and the second holder on non Hindi speaking region from south India. He was the chairman of Telugu Academy in Andhra Pradesh.

21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996
16 May 1996 – 1 June 1996
19 March 1998 – 10 October 1999
10 October 1999 – 22 May 2004

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Who served three terms as Prime minister of India. First time only 13 days and then 13 months the followed full term. He was the first Indian prime minister from the non-Indian national congress, he was a poet and writer.

H.D Deva Gowda

He was a civil Engineering Diploma holder. Gowda entered into politics and he joined the Indian national congress party and he remained as a member. He was elected for Karnataka legislative assembly as an independent candidate.

1 June 1996 – 21 April 1997
21 April 1997 – 19 March 1998

Inder Kumar Gujral

Inder Kumar Gujral Was the member of all Indian student federation. He also participated in Indian Independence movement and he was jailed during  quit India movement as a student he became the member of communist party of India.

Manmohan Singh

He was the senior lecture and he was the reader in economic he worked in united national conference on trade and development. Later he was .appointed as governor for reserve Bank of India and he went o became the deputy chairman of planning commission.

22 May 2004 – 22 May 2009
22 May 2009 – 26 May 2014
26 May 2014 – 30 May 2019
30 May 2019 – present

Narendra Modi

He became the first Prime Minister born after India’s Independence  from the British Empire. As PM  Modi  put in place for Goods and service tax, Modi set up a team to investigate Black money.

Spread the Knowledge

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *